Sports News

India announce 14-member squad for 2016 Kabaddi World Cup

Asian Games gold medallist Anup Kumar named India’s captain for the forthcoming Kabaddi World Cup.  The tournament will be played in Ahmedabad, India starting October 7 to 22.

A 14-member squad for the event was named by Mridul Bhadauria, president  of amateur Federation of India (AKFI). Indian cricket legend Kapil Dev unveiled the team jersey at the event.

Anup Kumar said: “I am highly honoured to lead the country for this Kabaddi World Cup. It’s every sportsperson’s desire to represent their country at a global stage. I’m proud of my team and we will all work towards bringing honour to India.”

Nations participating in world cup are  US, England, Australia, Iran, Poland, Thailand, Bangladesh, South Korea, Japan, Argentina, Kenya and hosts India.

 The squad:

Anup Kumar (captain), Ajay Thakur, Deepak Hooda, Dharmaraj Cheralathan, Jasvir Singh, Kiran Parmar, Manjeet Chhilar, Mohit Chhilar, Nitin Tomar, Pardeep Narwal, Rahul Chaudhuri, Sandeep Narwal, Surinder Nada, Surjeet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *